Fringe Benefits: do they make or break a job offer?

As you may know after my last post, salary/compensation negotiations are always pretty difficult with a position that you really want!  You don’t want to run the risk of scaring off a potential employer, but need to feel that your compensation is equivalent to your worth.

However, what about all those other nice little perks that give a position it’s silver lining?  Healthcare, Profit Sharing, Retirement funds, Vacation time… etc.   All these things can be added incentives that may influence one’s decision to select one job/company over another.  Or do they?

Question:

While my job search continues into May, I am evaluating each potential company and job offer with extreme detail.  The people, the company, the history, the values, the mission, and the purpose.  If all of those things align with my own, does it ultimately come down to the fringe benefits of a job?

I tried to complete this nice little worksheet that Google provided me, but I guess I am not as smart as a 5th grader.  It seems that this decision can’t be decided by a formula… hrrmph.

fringebenefitsinthirds

Shout outs to:

1.  Daytime TV–  for motivating me to get back in the work force, so I don’t have to watch any more of these ridiculous shows.

2.  Vintage Rollover minutes– allowing me to chat it up more than usual without paying ridiculous amounts for overages.

3.  Orlando Magic– ballers.  literally…

One thought on “Fringe Benefits: do they make or break a job offer?

Leave a Reply

