Social Media, a damper on your social life?

Does socializing online affect the quality of your face time with people? I think this fear still keeps many people at bay when considering social networking tools like Twitter, Facebook, Blogs, RSS, etc…    But, who can blame them?

After recently acquiring a new job (Nature’s Table Franchise, for those of you who aren’t up to speed), my own participation in these borderline addictive outlets came to a screeching halt.  I have been training, reading, and on the road with my latest responsibilities and found that keeping up with the Jones (aka Chris Brogan/Guy K.) is really time consuming and a bit of a hassle!

Soon, I found myself feeling guilty for having neglected my online audience in lieu of my new found lifestyle.  Did people care what I was saying or was that just my own withdraws getting the best of me??

Summary of my online exsistance.

Summary of my online existence.

Regardless of the answer, I now often find myself and my friends doing/saying things with the immediate intent of publishing the content to their “profile.”

How many times in the last year have you heard: “OH!  That has to be your new facebook picture!”
or
“I can’t believe he wrote that on your wall.”

We have become so hypersensitive to syndicating our real lives to our online audience that sometimes its easy to spend more time telling our stories than making them.  Which brings me back to those people… who are still holding out on social media participation.  Do they have the right idea?  Are they having more fun than me because I am handcuffed to this blog? (A lie, by the way, because I haven’t blogged in over a month now.  Slacker.)

I find myself now twitpic-ing everything “fun” that happens… see: Corey Smith Concert and Universal Studios.  I can’t decide if this is a good or bad thing.  I guess as long as the boss doesn’t figure out how to “follow” me on a sick day, its fine for the time being.

This whole social media VS real life scenario makes me think of teens texting each other instead of actually talking.  (Feel free to post your own captions below.)

Boy: “I am sooo getting to 2nd base tonight.”
Girl: “If he touches my butt, I am going to stomp on his foot.”

Primo Example...this is real folks, not iStock

Primo Example...this is real folks, not iStock

Shout outs to:

1.  My surrogate dentist, Yahaira and sidekick Stephen… who told me I definitely need a root canal, today.

2. All those that have refrained from the MJ pandemonium. He was just a person, not a power source.

3. My Mac- for helping me impress the new employer with improved proposals.

2 thoughts on “Social Media, a damper on your social life?

Leave a Reply

